Clearing Your Printer's Job Queue

/ Productive Business Systems Blog | Technocom / Clearing Your Printer's Job Queue

Productive Office Tip #15: Clearing Your Printer's Job Queue

At Technocom Business Systems, we want every client to be able to use their printers and copiers with ease. Our latest edition of Productive Office Tips on our Technocom TV YouTube channel covered a quick and easy method to deal with print job delays with the help of our field service technician TJ McCamey.

printer job queue, productive office tips, technocom

Sometimes certain print job queue scenarios can cause printing delays. These problems typically involve the queue containing too many waiting print jobs, at least one large job with dozens, hundreds or thousands of pages or a job that involves a lot of high-quality images. If you are dealing with a deadline, the best solution to this problem is the simplest one: You should clear the queue of the job or jobs that have caused the delay. If the job or jobs belong to a colleague, notify that person of the problem and then proceed.

Office Assessment Offer 

Fast Onscreen Steps

 

The following step-by-step guide is an example of how to quickly delete jobs from our Toshiba line of copiers. Although printers and copiers from different manufacturers have different designs, following these or similar steps on our products by other manufacturers should give you the same results.

Step 1

From the Home screen on your copier's touchscreen, touch the "Job Status" button to access the Job Status screen. This button has a blue background with a white lower case "i" on the foreground. It is usually located at the bottom right corner of the screen.

Step 2

Locate the "Jobs" option to access a list of current print jobs waiting in the queue. The word "Jobs" appears in white on a black horizontal line typically located at the bottom left-hand corner. When you select it, the screen updates and a yellow horizontal bar appears below the option to emphasize that you are on the correct screen.

Step 3

Touch anywhere on the horizontal description line of the first print job that you want to remove to select it. This action reveals all available additional actions that you can take with this job, including a gray button marked with "Delete" in white.

Step 4

Tap the "Delete" button to start the process to clear this specific job from your print queue. A pop-up screen will ask "Delete OK?" and offer another "Delete" button to confirm that you want to perform this action. To complete this action, you simply tap the button. If you have selected the wrong job from the queue, touch the "Cancel" option next to the "Delete" button to return to the queue and start over.

Step 5

Select and delete additional print jobs as needed until your print job is next or the only one in the queue. When you are finished, tap the "Close" button to exit the Job Status screen and return to the Home screen.

We hope that you were able to learn something new today that improves your office printing tasks. Check here and on our YouTube channel regularly for future tips.

 

Subscribe for Email Updates